Lori E. Seid… And How Was Your Day?

Ellen Stewart R.I.P. November 7, 1919 – January 13, 2011

Posted in Art, celebrity, dance, East Village, Hero, Legendary, Performance, woman by Lori E. Seid on 13 January 2011

Ellen Stewart created La Mama in 1961 and to this day it continues to be of great importance to world culture.  Stewart became known as the mother of Off-Off-Broadway theatre.


“I never had self-doubt. I was always taught by my mama that I’m on an island and there’s not a soul on the island but me. And so whatever gets done, I have to do it. That’s the way I was brought up. So I never thought about self-doubt. But anything that I’ve wanted to do, I always believed that somehow – I believe in the somehow – that I could find a way to do it”

Ellen Stewart

http://lamama.org/

(photo stolen from the web-it had no photo credit)

Leave a Reply

